Google_Schweizer Bundesfeiertag_1st August 2015A doodle for Swiss (or European?) Google users today (1st August).

Today is Switzerland’s National Day. However, I am not at home waiting to see the fireworks from the balcony of my flat or getting ready to go down to Ouchy. Given that I have not been to my parents much these past few months, I decided to pay them a visit on Friday evening. To have gone back today would have been a little rude, which is why I shall not be taking part in the celebrations to be organised this evening in Lausanne (the city where I live).

DSCN9520As a kind of consolation, I was able to the ‘honour’ what people in the Lake Geneva region would celebrate (a very long time ago) on the first of August: Lugnasad.

DSCN9523La Pierre aux Fées, 1st August 2015

Okay, okay: this structure predates Lugnasad by probably two thousand years, but I like to think that the people who used to celebrate Lugnasad had more in common with their ancestors the stone-builders than we do. For a start, they (the Celts, who used to celebrate Lugnasad) would not have disfigured the dolmen with such a huge graffiti…

Links

DSCN8990_prehistoric or Celtic sites around GenevaMap of the western part of Lake Léman showing the numerous prehistoric or Celtic sites found in the Greater Geneva Area, Museum of Art and Archaeology, Geneva, 30th May 2015 [‘Coffee break by the stone’] (Added 3rd August)