From Riederalp (cable car station) to Belalp (cable car station) in 3 hours and twenty-nine minutes. However, having only slept 4 hours the night before, I felt quite tired and decided to go for a shorter run and abandon the idea of running to Oberaletschhütte on the panoramaweg (see photos of my trip to this place last year)

DSCN3952

DSCN3954

DSCN3955

DSCN3956

DSCN3959

DSCN3966

DSCN3973

DSCN3995[Click to enlarge]

DSCN4000[Click to enlarge]

DSCN4009_stitch[Click to enlarge]

DSCN4013_stitch[Click to enlarge]

DSCN4018[Click to enlarge]

I decided to call it quits at this point: I had not even done half of the journey to Oberaletschhütte. At first, I had thought I would at least go to the top of this ridge (left circle) to be able to catch a glimpse of the glacier of Oberaletsch. However, I just felt too tired — after all, I had run/jogged/walked from quite far away, first downhill, then uphill, from the point indicated by the circle on the right.

DSCN4019[Click to enlarge]

DSCN4020[Click to enlarge]

Panorama of the Aletsch region (as seen from Belalp)

DSCN4021The small, but highly picturesque village of Blatten bei Naters.

DSCN4023

[Click to enlarge]

DSCN4024[Click to enlarge]

riederalp-to-belap_source-alpmove[Source: alpmove.ch]

I followed the yellow path plus I did the extra bit in red; I decided to abandon the idea of making it to Oberaletschhütte somewhere above Spitzflüeh and I therefore ran to Belap cable car station to reach Blatten bei Naters.

Other entries on this region published on this blog: