Panorama from Lausanne-Fiches_27 décembres 2014[Lausanne-Vennes,  9:29 am – not a great stitch, I have to admit.]

The ‘wild and wintry weather’ seen in other parts of Europe has finally arrived here on the hilly parts of Lausanne so that we now have a snow-covered landscape below our windows to enjoy.

DSCN7485[The Jet d’eau, Geneva’s iconic lake fountain on Christmas day as we crossed the lake on our way to France.]

Although MeteoSwiss (the Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology) had predicted some snowfalls starting from the early hours of this morning, I was still harbouring some doubts as to whether this would really happen until I saw the first flakes fall at around 4:30 am because we had had such nice weather on Christmas and Boxing Day.

DSCN7508[Our balcony was already covered in snow before mid-morning.]

The snow stopped some ten to fifteen minutes ago, so I guess it is time for me to get ready to enjoy one of my favourite activities at this time of the year whenever the weather conditions allow me to do so, which is to go for a run in the snow!

POSTSCRIPT

Three pictures (among the many I shot during my 2hour plus run); more to be uploaded 😉

DSCN7515_vue depuis le Signal de Sauvabelin_Lausanne_27 décembre 2014[View of Lausanne and Lake Léman & Alps as seen from Signal de Sauvabelin this afternoon; click to enlarge.]
DSCN7547[The snow made this waterfall near home feel even more refreshing.]
DSCN7561_‘green’ bicycle in the snow_near Lausanne_27 Dec 2014[A bicycle no longer as green as the last time I saw it.]

Other entries on running in winter near Lausanne

Entry on running in winter along the lakeside in Geneva

