Yesterday, I ate some crisps* that were 100% homemade: not only were the potatoes sliced and turned into crisps at home,

SAM_9500[Photo: courtesy of my wife]

… but they had been harvested from our…balcony garden a couple of weeks earlier.

Potatoes growing in bags[Photo: courtesy of my wife; the photo was first published on her blog, Just sharing]

We are indeed the proud ‘owners’ of a balcony garden as, three years ago, my wife decided to try her hand at growing vegetables on our balcony, including potatoes, which she grew in…bags!

DSCN7183Home grown blue potatoes of Sankt Gallen waiting for a cheese topping (i.e. raclette).

For the second year in a row, my wife has grown a variety of the Swedish blue (‘Blaue Schweden’) potato. Called ‘Blaue St. Galler’ (‘Sankt Gallen’ blue) because it was developed in the Swiss canton of Sankt Gallen. This potato however looks more purple than blue — at least to my eyes.

DSCN7227They certainly look purple on this picture, do they not?

As she had to use the oven to bake a pizza, my wife decided to cut some of these potatoes into very thin slices and then put them into the oven. Whenever I see packets of ‘Blaue St. Galler’ crisps in the local Migros (a Swiss supermarket chain), I tend to buy them because not only am I fond of crisps in general, but these particular crisps remind me of Oberwinterthur (which was the place I used to stay near Zurich when I worked there for a short stint and where I saw the ‘Blaue St. Galler’ crisps for the first time at the local Migros).

Of course, my wife knows only too well of my little ‘addiction’ for crisps – in fact, I had relapsed after a short period away from these little devils as I had bought a packet of retail crisps only the day before. My wife also knows that there is too much salt in crisps. So I guess that she must have thought that she might as well bake some for me because the homemade ones are much healthier given that we do not fry the crisps and we use very little salt.

DSCN7228Although they do not look very purple (or even blue) on this picture, I swear that this was the case when they stood in front of me.

So yesterday I got to enjoy some purple crisps 100% homemade. Not only were they healthier than the crisps I had had the day before, but they were certainly as tasty as their retail counterparts, if not tastier, despite the sparse use of salt and the different heating method.

Life is harder without a car100% home grown (except for the soil) and as ecological as possible 😉

So thank you, dear wife, for having allowed me to eat some crisps 100% homemade. It was certainly a nice reward for my own, little contribution to our balcony garden (see the picture above).

—-

* In some other varieties of English, they are called ‘chips’; in British English, ‘chips’ are what Americans call ‘fries’ — this sounds confusing, no? Well, here is a mnemonic tip: what is the name of England’s quasi national dish? Correct, the name is ‘fish and chips’. As for the word ‘crisp’, it sounds very much like the sound a very thin slice of baked/fried potato makes when it is crushed by our teeth, no? This is called onomatopoeia.

PS We use the microwave only for the purpose of storing bread …

Links

