My desk in the office_13 February 2012

Probably because of the long winter and the environment at work (which is less than merry as our firm is in the final stage of being taken over by a foreign competitor), I felt that I needed  to be revitalised and I ended up looking up information on places radiating ‘cosmo-telluric energy’ in Switzerland (for instance, Pierre aux Fées near Geneva, in France).

I then came across footage from TV broadcasts/documentaries warning about the negative effects of electromagnetic field exposure (or electrosmog) on humans. I must say that it found this finding to be highly disquieting, especially since the above photo shows the kind of electrical appliances that I have been exposed to for four years now at work (for 9 to 10 hours a day) in addition to having slept close to my mobile phone (I also use it as an alarm clock) for considerably longer. Fortunately, we have only being using a cordless phone (see 47 min and 18 sec into this presentation by the Canadian academic Magda Havas  http://alex2.sunnybrook.ca/mediasite/Viewer/?peid=f18d13e0382140079cc66cb3da4c7af5 as to why I have used the adverb ‘fortunately’) and WiFi for about a year … Needless to say, I have switched off both our WiFi router and cordless phone since; I also try to use my mobile phone as little as possible now. However, I do not know what to do about my work configuration. I am thinking of borrowing a device (from a Swiss electrosmog awareness association) so as to measure the electrosmog I am being exposed to unnecessarily. I shall keep you updated 😉

Other links

The science, public health, public policy and global response to the growing health issue of chronic exposure to electromagnetic fields and radiofrequency radiation in the daily life of billions of people around the world.  Covers brain tumor risks from cell phones, damage to DNA and genes, effects on memory, learning, behavior, attention; sleep disruption and cancer and neurological diseases like Alzheimer’s disease.  Effects on sperm  and miscarriage (fertility and reproduction), effects of wireless on the brain development of the fetus and infant, and effects of wireless classrooms on children and adolescents is addressed. Mechanisms for biological action and public health responses in other countries are discussed.  Therapeutic use of very low intensity EMF and RFR are addressed.

http://www.bioinitiative.org/table-of-contents/ (December 2012)

IARC classifies radiofrequency electromagnetic fields as possibly carcinogenic to humans (World Health Organisation/International Agency for Research on Cancer, 31 May 2011)

Electromagnetic fields and public health: mobile phones (World Health Organisation, Fact sheet N°193, June 2011)

Epidemiological evidence for an association between use of wireless phones and tumor diseases (Pathophysiology 16, 2009, pages 113–122)

Électrosmog : invisible et omniprésent (a 26min documentary in French on the Swiss situation, courtesy of the public health depart of the canton of Valais, 24 October 2011)

De quoi faut-il avoir peur? : électrosmog, wifi, téléphone mobile, ligne à haute tension (Le Nouvelliste, 31 mars 2012)

Helke Ferrie, ‘WHY OUR WORLD IS ELECTROPOLLUTED: How Industry Suppresses – and Government Denies – the Overwhelming Evidence of Harm‘ (March 2012 edition of Vitality)

