Tags

Although I do not consider myself superstitious, I have to admit that today I was a little concerned that I might fail to catch sight of the passing of the twelfth second past the twelfth minute past the twelfth hour ante meridiem of the twelfth day of the twelfth month of the twelfth year of the third millennium. The question of the accuracy of the timepiece I would be using to catch this unusual combination of numbers did not bother me at all, as I only wanted to make sure I would be able to find a visual representation of this moment. Fortunately, one of my colleagues, after I had told him that I wanted to capture the representation of  the combination 12-12-12 on a digital clock, suggested the website http://www.horlogeparlante.com/ [a talking clock website]. For his part, he wanted to make sure that he would be sending himself a self-addressed postcard marked with today’s date so as to keep a souvenir of this particular combination of day, month and year. For my part, I was interested in being able to take a picture of the full combination of time (twelfth second past the twelfth minute past the twelfth hour) and date (twelfth day of the twelfth month of the twelfth year of the third millennium) at the very moment it would take place.

12-12-12 on 12 December 2012

I managed to do so but the photograph (which I took with my the help of my Nokia Lumia) was a little blurry as my finger did not press sufficiently firmly to open up the camera mode at first and I was thus left with a fraction of a second to take the picture with the proper set of digits. Fortunately, I reacted sufficiently swiftly to achieve the intended result.

So should I consider this as a good omen? Not necessarily as I was not acting out of superstition (for instance, thinking that this would  bring me good luck), rather my purpose was aesthetic in nature as I was interested in the symmetry offered by this particular series of numbers.

I wrote above that I do not consider myself as superstitious. This is because I am not frightened to open my umbrella in the office, to walk under a ladder or to let a black cat cross my path. However, on Sunday, as we were in the vicinity of this superb dolmen (at Reignier, Haute Savoie, France), I found it hard to resist going under the table of the dolmen as I hoped that I would be able to feel some energy emanate from this very special religious artefact of ancient times. And contrary to my claim, I even allowed myself to make a wish …

Pierre aux Fées,  Reignier, 9 December 2012

Links

